BritRock Classics #1 – Earth Vs The Wildhearts

this is ReBlogged from @GarethEndean

Anything With Guitars

The 90’s gave us many genres; Grunge, Nu-Metal, Britpop and the Pop-Punk scene. But flying under – although often infuriatingly close to -the radar was a loose collection of British rock bands, lumped together through locality rather than a shared sonic blueprint. Ladies and Gentlemen I present to the best of BritRock: the genre you didn’t know you knew.

First up:Earth vs The Wildhearts

If there is one band that embodies the BritRock scene more than any other it’s The Wildhearts. Formed by ex-Quireboys guitarist, Ginger, after he was kicked out of the band for the alleged crime of excessive drinking. They flirted with success, courted disaster and produced some of the finest music of the era, leaving a trail of what-ifs and what-could-have-beens in their wake.

The Quireboys had been touted by many as the next big thing but in truth they were a ‘hair’ band born just…

View original post 707 more words

Spaceballs: The Animated Series


As talk of Spaceballs 2 is back on the agenda for Mel Brooks, I recently heard about Spaceballs: The Animated Series. I’m a huge fan of Spaceballs and Mel Brook’s films in general so the fact i had never heard of this is shocking. I was excited to dive in but was HUGELY disappointed.

The first episode which i only made half way through is one long “joke” about tits and bras and huge knockers. It’s unfunny, pointless and just plain repetitive. No wonder it was cancelled after 1 season (13 Episodes). If this is any indication of what Spaceballs 2: The Search For More Money will be then I’ll be giving it a miss.

System Of A Down – 2002 – Ozzfest Ireland, Punchestown Racecourse, Ireland [Live FLAC Recording]

From Noise Not Music blog follow the link to find plenty more live recordings around the world.


System Of A Down – ‘Ozzfest 2002’

Artist: System Of A Down
Date: May 26th, 2002
Venue: Punchestown Racecourse
Location: Naas, Ireland
File Type: FLAC
File Size: 319MB
File Length: 56:32
Source: AUD#1 (Sony Mic->Sony NetMD)

1. Prison Song
2. Drugs
3. Know
4. Jet Pilot
5. Deer Dance
6. DDevil
7. Suggestions
8. Psycho
9. Chop Suey!
10. Bounce
11. ATWA
12. Sultans Of Swing (Dire Straits Cover)
13. Aerials
14. Toxicity
15. Jam #1
16. War?
17. Needles
18. Science
19. Suite-Pee
20. Sugar

– 2002 European Tour.
– Performing on the main stage at ‘Ozzfest 2002’.
– First and only System Of A Down show in Ireland.
– ‘Jam #1’ contains a snippet of the unreleased, instrumental song ‘Hezze’.
– ‘Fuck The System’ chant in the middle of ‘Suite-Pee’.
– Dave Lombardo of Slayer played drums for the second half of ‘Suite-Pee’.

System Of A Down – 2002-05-26 – Ozzfest Ireland, Punchestown Racecourse, Ireland [Live FLAC Recording] 319mb!DBljxBYC!w6q9PRc8YqG_Hj5SH4TIFvJnl1qurc3BGjL6bAEmMuM